OPP try to run over resident

Posted: November 24, 2007 in Caledonia, Headlines, Jeff's Blogs, OPP, Residents

Update November 25, 2007: The officer who attemped to run over Mr. Syrie has admitted to his superiors that it happened, but claims his foot accidently slipped and hit the gas, at the same time that his arms accidently spun the steering wheel around to point the car at Mr. Syrie who was standing beside the drivers door and had to jump onto the road to avoid being hit. He also states he was enraged at the time due to Mr. Syrie holding a camera in his hand (which he was not using at the time).

The OPP Sgt who attended and spoke with Mr. Syrie has offered to send the offending officer to a driving course, and has stated that Mr. Syrie will have some control over what discipline this officer receives. In an interview with Caledonia Wakeup Call earlier today, Mr. Syrie indicated that among other things he intends to request that the officer be removed from Caledonia for the safety of the community. 

November 24, 2007

On January 20, 2007 a brave Caledonia resident invited us to his property adjacent to DCE much to the chagrin of the OPP. Some of you may remember the story of a man named Chris Syrie who was shown on CH News when a Native from DCE trespassed on his property, knocked down 2 Canadian flags he had raised, and demanded that he leave his land claiming they own it.

The OPP arrived, refused to ask the Native to leave, refused to identify him, refused to charge him with trespassing, and called the ART and MELT teams in order to allow the guy plenty of time to run away without charges.

nov207.jpg

Since that day, Mr. Syrie has been the target of OPP intimidation, but they have sunk to a new low. The following details were sent to me via email.

“An OPP tried to run me over this morning outside my store.

He was parked in front of my driveway, blocking it so no one could get in.

When I asked him to move he said he would move when the Santa parade came. I insisted he move immediately.

He cranked his steering hard to the right while I was standing to the left of the car.  He stepped on the gas backwards bringing his car into my body.  I had to jump to get out of the way.  I have a witness to the whole incident. The officer’s name is Constable Bruno and his badge number is #11773. I called 911 to report this erratic behavior and would like some type of confirmation that he has been dealt with accordingly.

I can no longer be tormented in this town by the government and its police force.

Can somebody assist me in getting a formal apology from the OPP. The uniform he wears does not give him the right to impose his frustrations or impede my business.

I am awaiting a call from his Sergeant.

Sincerely, thank you.

 Chris Syrie”

I just received the following update. Constable Bruno has admitted to the London Command that this did in fact take place, but claims his foot slipped onto the gas peddle.

We would all like to see a just resolution to this take place and of course this incident remains an allegation until it’s proven, but the time has come for the OPP brass to get control over some of the hot headed officers they have on the ground, and I’m not holding my breath that they’ll do it voluntarily.

Mr. Syrie has endured a living hell for the past year at the hands of the OPP and has thus far kept the details private, but even the strongest of men has a breaking point, and I suggest to the OPP that Mr. Syrie is not going to silently take it any more.

This story will be updated as new information becomes available.

Jeff Parkinson
Caledonia Wakeup Call
Jeff@CaledoniaWakeupCall.com
Comments
  1. WL Mackenzie Redux says:

    I suppose Mr. Syrie can consider himself lucky he wasn’t “Tasered” for complaining…seems to be the standard police response to citizens experiencing abuse at their hands.

    Ya Know Jeff it’s all the little things like this that add up…we see the lack of respect and civility in police which really reflects the contempt the government has for the individual, his private property and private business….I’m thinking it’s time to pull up stakes and move to jurisdiction who appreciates my productivity and revenues and respects me and wants to protect my interests….I’m sure I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

